Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
Marked as helpful review!

The Art Factory


...

Details
Region:
The Art Factory
Grid:
OSgrid
Rating:
Moderate
Category:
Art
Added by :
TheFactory
Created :
3 years ago
Traffic Rank:
610th

The Art Factory

Welcome to the heart of the Artists Quarter in Montmartre Paris and New York City. Here you will find work from real world and inworld and Landmarks including The Lapin Agile Cafe and Van Gogh Yellow House.

The Art Factory is a collaborative Art Project that is bringing together both Real World art and In world creativity.



The Paula Rego retrospective is now open, enjoy the show and learn more about the Portuguese artist at the Art Factory


Kashi Takeshi: I did take a sneek peek last week.. nice work ! We need more art in the Metaverse. 2 months ago
Last week saw the passing of one of the greatest artists of the last century. Portuguese born Paula Rego, who has died aged 87, once said that she liked “to work on the edge”, and her many series of paintings and drawings, about the subjugation of women, abortion and the marriage market, cut across social perceptions of the role of women, and disrupted the male view of women and their sexuality.

The Art Factory has lovingly recreated a replica of the Cascais museum that houses much of her work. The Architect Eduardo Souto de Moura was from Oporto, Portugal. https://www.designboom.com/architecture/eduardo-souto-de-m...

Cascais is located near Estoril where Paula grew up and Ericeira where she lived and worked with her husband Victor Willing. Paula studied at the Slade school of art and died peacefully on the 8th of June in North London.

Pagane: When the heroes destroy everything around and kill each other, new life is always reborn from under the ruins. 5 months ago

The Brando Project-VR 2022: Sun flower is one thing ; I await the Final Judgement ! 5 months ago
A Vigil for Peace
The Art Factory

Thank you to everyone who came to the vigil earlier.

The Picasso Peace Room stays open today for placing of candles, flowers, notes or just to sit peacefully and reflect. Donation links below:

https://donate.redcross.org.uk/appeal/ukraine-crisis-appea...
https://www.unicef.org.uk/donate/donate-now-to-protect-chi...
https://help.rescue-uk.org/ukraine-crisis-se
https://unitedhelpukraine.org
https://www.facebook.com/sunflowerofpeace

Symphony: Supporting your views and good efforts completely... The wonderful Art FActory is a fine and reputable establishment I am proud to be privileged to visit. Though I was unable to attend this vigil, I... 6 months ago
A Vigil for Peace
Where: The Art Factory
When: 6 months ago [27 Feb 2022 01:00 SLT]

Join us in the Picasso Peace Room at the Art Factory for live music and quiet conversation in support of the victims of the war in Ukraine and conflicts around the world.

Then the loud sound did seem to fade. Came back like a slow voice on a wave of phase (648 kHz). That weren't no DJ, that was hazy cosmic jive.

The Radio Caroline pirate ship was probably one of the best-known “unofficial” radio stations in Britain. By sticking to off-coast locations, the boat ensured that it could remain outside of the legal reach of the British authorities. Without any broadcasting laws to hold them back, the DJs on boats like Radio Caroline gave their listeners the raw, authentic music and entertainment they were looking for. These rock-and-roll pirates changed radio forever.

Caroline passes Battersea on its way out to the Essex Coast

Big thank you to everyone who came to this years Annual Transylvanian Convention! You made it an awesome event :)

Rocky Horror Picture Show
Where: The Entertainment Factory
When: 30 Oct 2021 15:00 SLT

Science Fiction, Double Feature
Ernest Moncrieff's & Ellen Tiratzo's tribute to the Classic musical "The Rocky Horror Picture Show"

Come as you are or dress in your sexiest Transylvanian Transvestite attire lots of costumes to collect at the event
Rocky Horror Picture Show
Where: The Art Factory
When: 10 months ago [30 Oct 2021 15:00 SLT]

Science Fiction, Double Feature
Ernest Moncrieff's & Ellen Tiratzo's tribute to the Classic musical "The Rocky Horror Picture Show"

Come as you are or dress in your sexiest Transylvanian Transvestite attire lots of costumes to collect at the event

Art is Pointless

Madchester night at the Haçienda
Where: The Art Factory
When: 22 Oct 2021 15:00 SLT

Take a trip back in time to a recreation of Manchester's legendry Haçienda night club. DJ Ernest will be playing tracks from those that performed there including - The Smiths, Stone Roses, Happy Mondays, Primal Scream, Madonna, Supergrass. Grandmaster Flash, The Prodigy and much more!
Madchester night at the Haçienda
Where: The Art Factory
When: 10 months ago [22 Oct 2021 15:00 SLT]

Take a trip back in time to a recreation of Manchester's legendry Haçienda night club. DJ Ernest will be playing tracks from those that performed there including - The Smiths, Stone Roses, Happy Mondays, Primal Scream, Madonna, Supergrass. Grandmaster Flash, The Prodigy and much more!

The Art Factory and all Factory regions are against racism in any form.

We have a real treat for you today. DJ Terra will be on the decks for a Pink Floyd exclusive set, mixing their great tracks into a wonderful Dance Mix, all combined with an outstanding light show!

Battersea sits in the Factory estates and pays homage to this legendary group with exhibits and art works. Take the Teleport from the Art Factory Square or drop this address into your map hg.osgrid.org:80/Factory West Sea/422/450/27
DJ Terra - The Pink Floyd Experience
Where: The Art Factory
When: 1 years ago [19 Jun 2021 14:00 SLT]

We have a real treat for you today. DJ Terra will be on the decks for a Pink Floyd exclusive set, mixing their great tracks into a wonderful Dance Mix, all combined with an outstanding light show!

Battersea sits in the Factory estates and pays homage to this legendary group with exhibits and art works. Take the Teleport from the Art Factory Square or drop this address into your map hg.osgrid.org:80/Factory West Sea/422/450/27

See you all later!

I ain't happy, I'm feeling glad
I got sunshine in a bag
I'm useless but not for long
The future is coming on

Take a wander over to Plastic Beach and hitch a ride in the Geep today

Symphony Vive has a wonderful new artwork in the her gallery at the Art Factory, but it needs a title, any suggestions? So far we have:

Hirst Style 'The voyage of fragility in a fleeting moment of a gossamer existence'
Emin Style 'I thought you loved me, but it was never real'
Pollock Style 'Boat and Butterfly wings No. 23'
Dali 'Art Factory Dream - Woman finds Butterfly wings in place of sails'
The Art Factory is about art and artists. At The Art Factory, we display art; we appreciate art; we learn about art; and, we promote art. We have over a dozen galleries dedicated to in-world artists, where they show their innovative creations. As such, we are continuing our feature - Meet the Artist. This week, we interviewed Antonia Ling, owner of Antonia Ling Gallery, Inspired By Gallery, Metropolis Poster Shop, and a 2001 themed gallery.

Antonia, tell us about yourself and your art.
“It's not easy to talk about myself. What have I to say about my person? Not much... really. I like photography and I like to photograph. I love to photograph old churches when I'm in Denmark. Or ships in the harbor... often details. Not the big ones, I prefer little old boats of the local fishermen. I like to photograph old cars and colorful flowers. I love art from the 1920s to today, I love a lot of the german BAUHAUS and their Master like Kandinsky, Alberts or Lazlo Moholy-Nagy.”

What are you doing currently?
“I try to photograph a bit. At the moment I deal with cyanotype. It fascinates me...”

What is your inspiration for art in world?
“I do what I do because I like to do it. When one in a million likes it... I'm happy.”

Thank you so much for your interview, Ms. Ling. We love your ongoing contributions to The Factory.
The Art Factory is about art and artists. At The Art Factory, we display art; we appreciate art; we learn about art; and, we promote art. We have over a dozen galleries dedicated to in-world artists, where they show their innovative creations. As such, we are beginning a feature called Meet the Artist.

This week we want to introduce to you, the very talented Nice Minik.

Ms. Minik, can you tell us a bit about yourself and your art?
My interest for VL-Photography started back in InworldZ with some photos of dancing Avis.
In 2017 the "Nice Minik" on OSG was created to try out "hypergriding" and to build a photo-studio with backdrops and "flat" lighting for Avi photo sessions.A visit of Ellen and Ernest in my first little gallery changed my virtual life.
Since that day I explored the photo-features of Firestrom and tried a lot of light-effects to make my inworld-photos more interesting. It comes in handy to be a prim builder (for certain backgrounds) and I also learned to create poses in the meantime.

And what are you doing artistically now?
Nowadays I can display model-sessions and themed series at "the Art Factory". And I was able to create some issues of the Stark Magazine.

So, what's the motivation behind your work?
Some of my work just tries to show beauty. Some may be a bit provocative. But I always try to find the mood, lighting and angle to take photos, that "tell a story". And sometimes I can even achieve that goal.
One thing stayed consistently through my development as an inworld-photographer: what you see is what I saw. That means, that I never do after-works on my photos.

What do you enjoy most about creating art in virtual worlds?
Besides that, I very much like to show virtual life in a way, that makes viewers enjoy what I enjoyed or maybe get an impulse to think about certain aspects.

Thank you for the interview, Ms. Minik!

Please stop by The Art Factory Reloaded and check out Nice Minik's art! It won't disappoint!
Pink Floyd - In the Flesh! Or is it In the Mesh? Ernest and I spent all day bringing album cover art to life today. A different spin on art, but the installations are pretty amazing to see! Come by Battersea and see for yourself!
Formed in 1965, Pink Floyd are probably one of the most loved groups of the Psychedelic era. Their 15 studio albums from 'Pipers at the Gates of Dawn' to 'The Endless River' spanned 47 years.

Floyd were renowned for their sonic experimentation, live performances incorporated lavish light shows and quadraphonic speaker systems. Concept works such a 'The Dark Side of the Moon' and 'The Wall' played on repeat on many bed-sit turntables of the 70's booming out the dark themes of alienation, war, insanity and dystopia.

Art surrounded much of Floyds output, cartoon illustrator Gerald Scarfe provided his disturbing ink-splattered caricatures for the rock opera 'The Wall' and their albums most often featured the work of surrealist graphic designer Storm Thorgerson who also produced covers for Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Peter Gabriel, the Alan Parsons Project, Genesis, The Muse, The Cranberries and Biffy Clyro.

Housed in the re-creation of Battersea Power Station on the Art Factory estates, the artwork of Pink Floyd is presented along with 3D recreations. Pink Floyd radio is permanently live when ever you need a sound track to close you eyes to and become comfortably numb. Look out for live shows and events coming soon.

hop://hg.osgrid.org:80/Factory West Sea/407/450/28
The Tate Modern comes to The Art Factory

The Bankside power station was designed by Giles Gilbert Scott for the City of London Electric Lighting Company in 1891 and along with Battersea (See Pink Floyds Animals cover) served power to London for nearly 100 years.

Since 2000 'The mother of all Loft conversions' has been used to house the Tate Modern art museum and gallery which is now officially the most popular attraction in the UK.

This is a scratch build and recreates my 'Happy Place'. I typically visit the Tate 4 or 5 times a year and I'm never happier than when sat reading a show guide and drinking a coffee beneath the silver birch trees that flank its exterior. I have missed it so much during the Pandemic I had to recreate it.

The Tate is linked to the Art Factory via the Millennium Bridge and will initially house contemporary British Artists including Bacon, Hockney, Hirst and Emin. But let us know what you would like to see, when you think British Art who comes to mind?

Awww sh*t!

Rainy Sunday afternoon fun. Recreating a scene from the wonderful Studio Ghibli film 'My Neighbor Totoro'. A collaboration with Athlon Maurer.

Rainy Sunday afternoon fun. Recreating a scene from the wonderful Studio Ghibli film 'My Neighbor Totoro'. A collaboration with Athlon Maurer.

Ernest Moncrieff's & Ellen Tiratzo's tribute to the Classic musical film "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" @ Winterfest on Tuesday, December 29th @ 1p Grid time/PDT

Come as you are or dress in your sexiest Transylvanian Transvestite attire- just don't miss this one!

Winterfest on Wintervale, Alternate Metaverse Grid
Map Us: alternatemetaverse.com:8002:Wintervale

https://opensimworld.com/post/66185

Merry Christmas Everyone

Come and celebrate The Art Factories 1st year!

The Art Factory Birthday Party
Where: The Art Factory
When: 2 years ago [14 Nov 2020 14:00 SLT]

Come and celebrate The Art Factories 1st year!

An evening of music from the Rocky Horror Picture Show, followed by Live Music from Thomas Messenger

Rocky Horror & Hobbit
Where: The Art Factory
When: 2 years ago [31 Oct 2020 15:00 SLT]

An evening of music from the Rocky Horror Picture Show, followed by Live Music from Thomas Messenger

Welcome to Burlesque at The Factory
Where: The Art Factory
When: 2 years ago [11 Jul 2020 14:00 SLT]

This week the Factory Girls welcome you to Burlesque
Note the new Grid Location

14:00 DJ Kawaii
15:00 DJ Golbez
16:00 MC Ernest
17:00 The Factory Girls Burlesque Show
18:00 DJ Edison

Summer Lovin - Blues Birthday Party
Where: The Art Factory
When: 2 years ago [4 Jul 2020 14:00 SLT]

This week we are celebrating Blues Birthday at the Art Factory Holiday Resort. Come and chill and enjoy the summer tunes.

14:00 DJ Kawaii
15:00 DJ Golbez
16:00 DJ Ernest
17:00 Factory Girls
18:00 DJ Edison

80s Night at the Birdcage
Where: The Art Factory
When: 2 years ago [27 Jun 2020 14:00 SLT]

Kawaiis Fantasy Birthday Party
Where: The Art Factory
When: 2 years ago [20 Jun 2020 14:00 SLT]

This weeks line-up

14:00 DJ Kawaii
15:00 DJ Golbez
16:00 DJ Ernest
17:00 Fantasy Hour
18:00 DJ Eddison

Sock Hop & Twist Contest
Where: The Art Factory
When: 2 years ago [18 Jun 2020 14:00 SLT]

Join us at Jack Rabbit Slims for an End of Term celebration!

* The Best Music
* Twist Contest
* Kahuna Burgers
* $5 Milkshakes

A Tribute to Florian Schneider
Where: The Art Factory
When: 2 years ago [6 Jun 2020 14:00 SLT]

Todays last minute Line-up

14:00 DJ Golbez
15:00 Kraf-Twerk
16:00 DJ Ernest


Status
Region Status:
Online
Avatars in region:
0
Last checked:
9 minutes ago
HyperGrid:

Visit this region:
Hop V3HG HG Local Grid

Recent avatar traffic
Region status history ⇒

Donate
Like this region? Donate to support its operation and development
Donate to region
Upcoming Events
No events

Reviews (9)
Overall Rating:
Arya Paul Amazingly well done, creative and absolutely gorgeous!! Rivals anything seen in, well, you know where ;) Kudos to all the creators, designers and artists. Well done, indeed!!
Symphony The Art FActory is one of the best regions ever created, wonderful owners and full of creative ideas and displays... I love this project since the first time I saw it. Ernest and Ellen (among others at the Art FActory) have an amazing eye for design everywhere I look I see something fun! Ty fo...
Safinemahoe2 If regions were measured on quality instead of traffic, this would be #1! Take time to go visit the Art Factory today and see the amazing work from our Open Sim artists. The Art Factory is a place you can visit many times....and never feel like you have seen it all.

Region Comments

Millysail 7 months ago
This place is very well done had a lot of fun here.
like(1)
TheFactory 7 months ago
Glad you had fun! lots to do and see :)
like(0)
Zuzu Bahro 1 years ago
Just in case you don't already know. Someone has taken your "Night Cafe" and placed it on their land at Wolf Territories on
Zeta.
like(0)
Xenia 1 years ago
I mean....WOW....this look so great! A lot to explore....Love the environment...!
like(2)
TheFactory 1 years ago
Thank you for your kind words, Xenia!!! Please come again and bring friends!
like(0)
marlu3 1 years ago
Delicious sim that combines art, creativity and so much skill. The attention to detail is amazing. I have to do a task for a course. I filmed my trip on your SIM card, I hope you don’t mind! Congratulations!
like(3)
TheFactory 1 years ago
Oh excellent, so glad you enjoyed your visit! there is more coming soon so be sure to come back
like(1)
marlu3 1 years ago
Here is my report, I hope you like it! Thank you!
https://prezi.com/view/UdWpw1urKRRgNigCn2Xp/
like(2)
TheFactory 1 years ago
Wow Marlu, that is absolutely fantastic! Would you be happy for us to share a link on our Facebook page? https://www.facebook.com/groups/thefactoryosg
like(0)
Nice Minik 2 years ago
oh I just saw that I never commented here ;)
The Art Factory gave me the opportunity to display my inworld-photography and motivated me to learn more, test a lot and create new series. The artistic disussions with the owners are a very important feedback for me. Thank you so much Ellen & Ernest for your creativity and kindness.
like(3)
TheFactory 2 years ago
Thank you for this lovely feedback Nice and it's wonderful having such wonderful work in your gallery here.
like(1)
Moora 2 years ago
I Have the privilege to show my work here. Please drop by and take a good look around. You are all very welcome.
like(1)
TheFactory 1 years ago
Fantastic work Moora!
like(0)
victorialogan 3 years ago
The sim is a fascinating place, really beautiful to see and recreate art in all its expressions. Visit him
like(2)
Loading...